Blog Archives

The Bluntskins LP

The Bluntskins album - great Manchester hip hop The day is here – The Bluntskins LP is finally with us. It’s not just one for the smokers amongst us, as it’s a dope hip hop record in its own right. The beats are laid down by none other than Pro P, and the microphone duties are shared between Cheech and Bill Sykes. The tracks range from bangers like ‘Roll Up’ and ‘Smoke Dat Piff’ to chilled joints, like ‘Mellow High’. Manchester is proving, once again, that when it comes to high quality UK hip hop this is the place producing it.

Black Josh – THC

Screen Shot 2013-06-30 at 22.15.01


Manchester is not slowing down with the release of high quality hip hop, nor is there a drought of smoke-related music. Black Josh of Ape Cult is here to provide a little of both. With psychedelic visuals and a gritty boom-bap rhythm, how can you not dig this?


Ugly Heroes – Heroe’s Theme

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.45.47

I can’t remember being disappointed with a Mello Music release, and that hasn’t changed. This brand new Apollo Brown produced LP has been on rotation here for some time. Here’s a video from the album to give you an idea of the vibes on offer.

Purchase/preview the album here

Joey Bada$$ – Amethyst Rockstar ft. Kirk Knight (prod.MF Doom)


New Joey release from his forthcoming ‘Summer Knights’ project. This one features Kirk Knight, with MF Doom on the boards.

Chuckz – Manchester [Anti Rap]

Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 18.31.56

Manchester is not slowing down with the constant emergence of young MCs. The latest kid to make the break through is Chuckz, who I saw hold his own amongst Manchester’s finest MCs, at the Antwerp Mansion. Here Chuckz delivers the goods and lets you know where he’s from. Keep an eye out, we’re expecting big things from this kid.

NouGold [June 2013]


Damn, the latest NouGold podcast is full to the brim with high quality underground hip hop. We’ve been doing this for over 2 years now and we don’t intend on stopping. We will continue to broadcast the hip hop revival directly to your earholes.

Track listing:
Cold Men Young – The Comeback
Rakim – Get Visual
Joey Bada$$ – Word Is Bond
Thr33 Piece Suit – Can I do My Thing
DJ Bombay – Unapproachable Fog
Blu & Bombay – Summertime
The Mouse Outfit ft. Black Josh & Truthos Mufasa – Sit Back
C Aye Monk – Love Maze
MC Melodee & Cookin Soul – Think Twice
Pragmatic Theory – Stay
L.atasha A.lcindor – Down To Earth Thoughts
Scienze – The Answer (prod. Lord Quest)
Noah Jones & Jay Rock – When The Goons Come Out
Canis Major – Love You So
Lyricalligraphy – Dark Skies (prod. Dom HZ)